How does Showa's SFF work?

Here is the place to ask questions about working on your 650.

Moderator: BRP

phoenix91

How does Showa's SFF work?

Postby phoenix91 » Wed Dec 12, 2012 10:22 pm

I just recently started getting familiar with suspension functions in general. I can't exactly say I'm an expert but in my opinion, Showa's new SFF (separate function fork) is one of the sketchiest setups I've ever seen. Preload is adjustable on the left fork and NOT the right, rebound and damping is adjustable on the right and not the left. The left fork is air suspension, and the right is spring. This setup found it's way to mostly dirt bikes but most recently, the new 636. I have many questions about this trend but the biggest one is: HOW THE HELL DOES THIS WORK???

141_1010_04_o+2011_kawasaki_kx250f_first_test+sff_system.jpg

IMG_20121212_212100.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
07 650r
Scorpion slip on
BMC air filter
short velocity stacks in airbox (thanks Gary!)
PCIII
SBL projectors with red halos and yellow eyes
Custom seat
Clip ons (over triple)
Lowered 1.5" in front
Integrated tail
Chopped screen
Red wheel tape
phoenix91

Re: How does Showa's SFF work?

Postby phoenix91 » Thu Dec 13, 2012 4:04 pm

More specifically, how does is it practical when the forks are set up so differently? You would think that one fork would dive and behave differently than the other, causing the front wheel to constantly change pitch and angle. Also with one fork being air suspension, after a few miles, it would heat up causing the air to expand and having the same effect as jacking up the preload on one side mid-ride
07 650r
Scorpion slip on
BMC air filter
PCIII
Custom seat
Clip ons (over triple)
Lowered 1.5" in front
Integrated tail
Chopped screen
Red wheel tape
biketechted

Postby biketechted » Thu Dec 13, 2012 7:30 pm

I find your lack of faith disturbing.